Need help with "brake button" wiring for ADC app and twist throttle

General topics and discussions about the VESC and its development.
qwiksand
Posts: 5
Joined: 16 Dec 2015, 00:09

Need help with "brake button" wiring for ADC app and twist throttle

Postby qwiksand » 27 Sep 2016, 16:19

vesc pins.png
vesc pins.png (8.22 KiB) Viewed 1390 times


The hall throttle works perfectly using the 3.3v, gnd and ADC_EXT (pins 2,3 and 4 respectively in the diagram above) and doesn't seem to matter which selection box is ticked in the "control mode" portion of the ADC app. Where I'm running into trouble is with setting up the push button to use the hall throttle as a brake; as I understand it the push button should connect pin 2 (3.3v VCC) to pin 6 (RX) and when it is held/activated the hall throttle should then be a proportional brake.

I've tried all variations of the current throttle in the "control mode" part of the ADC application, as well as using pin 5 (TX) and even pin 7 (ADC_EXT2), but no joy. I'm not finding a ton of info on this out there, the best explanation is in a post made by Vedder himself re: using a similar set-up for cruise control: http://vedder.se/2015/08/vesc-writing-c ... lications/

If anyone has this working (or if you know of a post/info location explaining it), please let me know how you wired it and what selection you used in the VESC ADC application.

Thanks!

rew
Posts: 926
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 12:29
Location: Delft, Netherlands.

Re: Need help with "brake button" wiring for ADC app and twist throttle

Postby rew » 27 Sep 2016, 16:33

The switch needs to be between ground and the RX pin. (or TX, I don't remember THAT).

qwiksand
Posts: 5
Joined: 16 Dec 2015, 00:09

Re: Need help with "brake button" wiring for ADC app and twist throttle

Postby qwiksand » 27 Sep 2016, 17:25

Thanks rew, I'll give that a go!

qwiksand
Posts: 5
Joined: 16 Dec 2015, 00:09

Re: Need help with "brake button" wiring for ADC app and twist throttle

Postby qwiksand » 28 Sep 2016, 21:51

Just to follow up, in case this helps anyone in the future:

When using the "button" feature of the ADC app (just ADC, not ADC with UART):

Ground to TX pin = cruise control

Ground to RX pin = use throttle as variable brake or reverse (depends on which control mode box is selected)

fabz
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Jan 2018, 15:25

Re: Need help with "brake button" wiring for ADC app and twist throttle

Postby fabz » 01 Jan 2018, 15:31

Hi

...and select "Current norev button" in control mode ADC

Thanks


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests