mosfet caps missing?

Report your hardware problems here. Include as many details as possible with pictures to get the best possible help and feedback.
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
zhivko
Posts: 3
Joined: 02 Jan 2018, 22:43
Location: slovenia
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

mosfet caps missing?

Postby zhivko » 05 Jan 2018, 14:53

Hi VESC community,

are capacitors on mosfets between +60V and GND intentionally let out?
I copied this layout example frmo DRV8302 datasheet:

vesc_cap_missing.png
vesc_cap_missing.png (308.38 KiB) Viewed 2343 times


Another question I have is: where on pcb is this point where signal GND and power GND is connected? Can somebody explain?
vedder_question1.png
vedder_question1.png (213 KiB) Viewed 2342 times

User avatar
TheFallen
Posts: 84
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 10:49
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: mosfet caps missing?

Postby TheFallen » 05 Jan 2018, 15:54


zhivko
Posts: 3
Joined: 02 Jan 2018, 22:43
Location: slovenia
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: mosfet caps missing?

Postby zhivko » 23 Jan 2018, 23:26

external capacitor in on supply voltage?

I see on this schematic they are electrolytes, but on vedder schematics I don't see any electrolytes near mosfets.
So are ceramics as good as electrolytes? Is it ok to use ceramics instead of electrolytes?

Would it be OK to go without those caps near mosfets?

User avatar
TheFallen
Posts: 84
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 10:49
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: mosfet caps missing?

Postby TheFallen » 24 Jan 2018, 09:05



[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Return to “Hardware Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests