code to change the motor amp limit

General topics and discussions about the VESC and its development.
devin
Posts: 255
Joined: 08 May 2017, 01:55
Location: San Francisco, California, US
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: code to change the motor amp limit

Postby devin » 04 Jul 2017, 09:05

Last edited by devin on 12 Jul 2017, 19:53, edited 1 time in total.

rew
Posts: 943
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 12:29
Location: Delft, Netherlands.
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: code to change the motor amp limit

Postby rew » 05 Jul 2017, 05:42


devin
Posts: 255
Joined: 08 May 2017, 01:55
Location: San Francisco, California, US
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: code to change the motor amp limit

Postby devin » 05 Jul 2017, 05:56

after doing some motor simulations today, I have some new predictions (i'll try to provide some supporting evidence in the next day or so)

wye 100kv -> wye 173.205kv
1 ohm -> 0.33 ohm
100 turns -> 57.73 turns
1 cross section -> 1.73205 cross section
33.33% copper fill -> 33.33% copper fill
1 copper volume -> 1 copper volume
100 unit torque per amp -> 57.73 unit torque per amp

wye 100kv -> wye 173.205kv
1 ohm -> 0.33 ohm
100 turns -> 33.33 turns
1 cross section -> 1 cross section
33.33% copper fill -> 11.11% copper fill
1 copper volume -> 0.33 copper volume
100 unit torque per amp -> 33.33 unit torque per amp

wye 100kv -> wye 173.205kv
1 ohm -> 0.33 ohm
100 turns -> 100 turns
1 cross section -> 3 cross section
33.33% copper fill -> 99.99% copper fill
1 copper volume -> 3 copper volume
100 unit torque per amp -> 100 unit torque per amp

wye 100kv -> delta 173.205kv
1 ohm -> 0.33 ohm
100 turns -> 100 turns
1 cross section -> 1 cross section
33.33% copper fill -> 33.33% copper fill
1 copper volume -> 1 copper volume
100 unit torque per amp -> 57.73 unit torque per amp

rew
Posts: 943
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 12:29
Location: Delft, Netherlands.
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: code to change the motor amp limit

Postby rew » 05 Jul 2017, 06:06

Proper science means you formulate a hypothesis that predicts the outcome of measurements. Right?
I predict your motor 1 will end up with 173Kv, same as you.
I predict your motor 2 will end up with 300Kv.
I predict your motor 3 will end up with 100Kv.
I predict your motor 4 will end up with 173Kv. (same as you) (added later: missed the 4th motor first time).

devin
Posts: 255
Joined: 08 May 2017, 01:55
Location: San Francisco, California, US
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: code to change the motor amp limit

Postby devin » 05 Jul 2017, 08:11


devin
Posts: 255
Joined: 08 May 2017, 01:55
Location: San Francisco, California, US
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: code to change the motor amp limit

Postby devin » 07 Jul 2017, 14:10


rew
Posts: 943
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 12:29
Location: Delft, Netherlands.
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: code to change the motor amp limit

Postby rew » 08 Jul 2017, 08:06

Let me try to put it this way.
A coil is an electric component that carries current and only changes that current in response to a voltage.So in theory you could short a coil and the current will keep on running forever. In fact, that's what they do for the superconducting magnets in MRI machines.

A coil of a motor is not energized by voltage, but by current. You may need a voltage to start that current running, but when things are near-perfect, the voltage can be zero and a current is maintained.

So when we start 1A, 2A and -3A running into the three leads of the motor, to keep that current running we only need to keep the voltages close to zero. Now in reality we don't have superconducting coils or ideal mosfets. So SOME voltage is required to maintain that state. But in electronics it is difficult to generate say 1V on the motor from a 50V battery voltage. The good news is that 50V 2% of the time is equivalent to 1V 100% of the time. It has almost exactly the same effect.

devin
Posts: 255
Joined: 08 May 2017, 01:55
Location: San Francisco, California, US
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: code to change the motor amp limit

Postby devin » 08 Jul 2017, 14:14

Last edited by devin on 12 Jul 2017, 19:54, edited 1 time in total.

devin
Posts: 255
Joined: 08 May 2017, 01:55
Location: San Francisco, California, US
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: code to change the motor amp limit

Postby devin » 09 Jul 2017, 15:40


devin
Posts: 255
Joined: 08 May 2017, 01:55
Location: San Francisco, California, US
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: code to change the motor amp limit

Postby devin » 16 Jul 2017, 01:43

Image


[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests