VESC Analog throttle control

General topics and discussions about the VESC and its development.
wrenthereaper

VESC Analog throttle control

Postby wrenthereaper » 06 Apr 2017, 03:03

Hey everyone, I'm new to the hobby and I'm building an electric bike. I've purchased this VESC BLDC Speed Controller http://diyelectricskateboard.com/diy-electric-skateboard-kits-parts/vesc-the-best-electric-skateboard-esc/

And I'll be using a classic electric scooter handlebar throttle which I'm pretty sure is just a potentiometer. I've downloaded the BLDC tool too.

Would someone be so kind as to help lead me in the right direction here? I'm not sure how to go about setting up the VESC so that it will control my motor using just an analog signal. I've tried searching various forums and reading lots of posts but I couldn't find any relevant info.

Quezacotl

Re: VESC Analog throttle control

Postby Quezacotl » 06 Apr 2017, 10:46

I asked that just yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=648
And i got an answer;
-Hall-sensor or potentiometer, doesn't matter as long as you get voltage out. But if you have the most common throttle, it is hall sensor. You can hook it up to 3V3.
-connect the output of the throttle to ADC pin(the middle of the 7pin)
-in the BLDC tool application, choose to use ADC as plugin(in application" tab)
-and in ADC column, choose "duty cycle", and set voltage range as 0,60V - 2,60V

That's what worked for me.

wrenthereaper

Postby wrenthereaper » 06 Apr 2017, 17:50

Thanks for the response! Although I'm still confused.

This is the throttle I purchased. http://www.banggood.com/Motorcycle-Black-Electric-Scooter-Bike-Throttle-Grip-p-947953.html
I assumed it was a potentiometer but I wouldn't know how to identify a hall-sensor. I also don't know what you mean by 3V3. The throttle has three wires and I'm not entirely sure where to solder them too. I believe they're the positive, negative, and signal wires, correct?