Current offset and gain

General topics and discussions about the VESC and its development.
matjaz1

Current offset and gain

Postby matjaz1 » 22 Aug 2017, 13:51

Hello to all,

I made a circuit board, based on VESC design, but I changed the current measurement method. My question is, where could I change the current offset and gain parameters?
Thank you for your answer.

Best Regards,
Matjaz

rew

Re: Current offset and gain

Postby rew » 22 Aug 2017, 19:04

In hwconf there are files for each of the hardware options. The easy way out is to modify the one for the design that you copied the hardware from.

Slightly more work is to make a definition file for the hardware that you made and add it to the makefile and things like that. Start with a copy of the hardware that you started out with.

The current sensitivity is in the .h file.

matjaz1

Postby matjaz1 » 23 Aug 2017, 12:50

Thank you for a quick response rew.
I use hw_410.h, since i'm a beginner in programing i have searched where i can modify the current offset and gain but without luck... Could you please be more specific, which parameters should i change in order to get it work.

Here is a link to Benjamin's github hw_410.h file --> Link to https://github.com/vedderb/bldc/blob/master/hwconf/hw_410.h

Thanks,
Matjaz

rew

Postby rew » 24 Aug 2017, 07:04

line 84 and 87.

The code more or less assumes that you have a resistor and a voltage amplifier (GAIN). So the default setup, a 1 mOhm shunt resistor results in a sensitivty of 1mV per A. (V/A is otherwise known as Ohm). Next there is a GAIN of 10x so we get: 10mV/A. That is what hte current line 84 and 87 are saying.

Suppose you have an ACS7xx chip with 20mV/A sensitivty, you simply specify a 20x gain or (but not both) a 2 mOhm shunt.

kitewinder

Postby kitewinder » 24 Aug 2017, 08:06

And another simple questions : how can we "flash" those changes on hwconf into the vesc ?

rew

Postby rew » 24 Aug 2017, 09:03