RESC: Automotive quality high voltage fork from the VESC

Discuss hardware related to the VESC such as the NRF nunchuk.
rew
Posts: 943
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 12:29
Location: Delft, Netherlands.
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Moving around pins on the STM32 and upgrading to f7 over f4

Postby rew » 04 Jun 2017, 04:55

NORMALLY ST provides compatibility between series of chips. So I have a board, where I was able to upgrade the planned '072 to a '405 without any hassle. Similarly, I have an application that I can prototype using the VESC hardware but that doesn't need a big CPU. So I suddenly have an '072 on there....

However, with the 100 pins STM32F7xx vs the STM32F4xx something went wrong with the 100-pin package.

Pin 19, VDD on the '405 is not present on the F7. And pin 49, VSS on the F7 is not present on the F4. And all thirty pins in between are shifted by one position.

So, in general, you would be able to design a board for either F4 or F7, but the exception is the 100 pin variant....

ragonamuffin
Posts: 37
Joined: 04 Apr 2017, 02:08
Location: CT, USA
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Moving around pins on the STM32 and upgrading to f7 over f4

Postby ragonamuffin » 04 Jun 2017, 16:54

Just my luck! :lol: I think I will build my first prototype out of the F4 as I am still a newbie and i don't want to run into too many issues. I will post my revised schematics here shortly. Stay tuned!

Thanks as always!

rew
Posts: 943
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 12:29
Location: Delft, Netherlands.
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Moving around pins on the STM32 and upgrading to f7 over f4

Postby rew » 04 Jun 2017, 18:01

Well.. If you make a proper footprint of the F4 and F7 chips, they should "fit" in the schematic. So then you get to swap out the CPUs, and have only minor adjustments to make in the PCB. (provided your CAD package does forward/backward annotation).

ragonamuffin
Posts: 37
Joined: 04 Apr 2017, 02:08
Location: CT, USA
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Moving around pins on the STM32 and upgrading to f7 over f4

Postby ragonamuffin » 06 Jun 2017, 20:03


rew
Posts: 943
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 12:29
Location: Delft, Netherlands.
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Moving around pins on the STM32 and upgrading to f7 over f4

Postby rew » 06 Jun 2017, 21:05

Oh, sure. the 144 pin version should work. Or otherwise the 176 pin version if the 144 pin version doesn't work. Eighty unused pins! whow! (probably only about 64, as the number of ground and VCC pins grows slowly as well. An you slowly get a few more special purpose pins. Like VDDA and VREF are the same pin on small packages, but separate pins on bigger ones).

ragonamuffin
Posts: 37
Joined: 04 Apr 2017, 02:08
Location: CT, USA
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Moving around pins on the STM32 and upgrading to f7 over f4

Postby ragonamuffin » 06 Jun 2017, 21:31

What about using one of these, as I really would prefer 3 CAN buses:
STM32F413VG
STM32F413VH
STM32F423VH
STM32F423RH
STM32F413RH
STM32F413RG

If not one of these, which 144 pin would be the least troublesome?

ragonamuffin
Posts: 37
Joined: 04 Apr 2017, 02:08
Location: CT, USA
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Moving around pins on the STM32 and upgrading to f7 over f4

Postby ragonamuffin » 06 Jun 2017, 23:08


ragonamuffin
Posts: 37
Joined: 04 Apr 2017, 02:08
Location: CT, USA
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Moving around pins on the STM32 and upgrading to f7 over f4

Postby ragonamuffin » 06 Jun 2017, 23:10

Looks like I only need to supply 3.3v to this PCB now! This PCB is going to be squeaky clean :) 12v of course for gate drivers.

EDIT: Nevermind, using 5v on the current amps, oh well have to add an extra wire to harness :lol:

rew
Posts: 943
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 12:29
Location: Delft, Netherlands.
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Moving around pins on the STM32 and upgrading to f7 over f4

Postby rew » 07 Jun 2017, 05:48


ragonamuffin
Posts: 37
Joined: 04 Apr 2017, 02:08
Location: CT, USA
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Moving around pins on the STM32 and upgrading to f7 over f4

Postby ragonamuffin » 07 Jun 2017, 14:02

That sounds like a great plan. I was hoping to have found a 64 pin 3 CANbus chip that would work. I will move forward with the 144 pin!


[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1236: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Return to “Related Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest