Minimum components

General discussion about projects and posts on vedder.se
slapshot136
Posts: 27
Joined: 15 Sep 2016, 18:24

Minimum components

Postby slapshot136 » 15 Sep 2016, 21:34

I would like to know what components are needed before I can program the STM32F4 MCU (so I can test that I haven't burned it out by soldering)

Also, I won't be using the CAN bus, so can I just not solder the CAN transceiver and header? are there any other parts I can skip by doing so?

rew
Posts: 943
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 12:29
Location: Delft, Netherlands.

Re: Minimum components

Postby rew » 16 Sep 2016, 07:46

There is a resistor you don't need if you're leaving out CAN.

To just test the STM, on my boards, I can just power the STM from the programmer, so on my board, I need little else....

arvidb
Posts: 234
Joined: 26 Dec 2015, 14:38
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

Re: Minimum components

Postby arvidb » 16 Sep 2016, 15:42

rew, maybe it's also a good idea to clarify that your board is not a VESC. :)

rew
Posts: 943
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 12:29
Location: Delft, Netherlands.

Re: Minimum components

Postby rew » 17 Sep 2016, 07:45

Well, it is close enough, that I think that if you bring up the 3.3V on a VESC you should be able to program the STM32.

The programming connector is derived from the "reference schematic" provided by STM32discovery boards. There pin 1 of the programming connector is "VCC". I think the intention was to have the programmer measure the target voltage through that pin, but you can often power your target by injecting 3 or 3.3V there....

slapshot136
Posts: 27
Joined: 15 Sep 2016, 18:24

Re: Minimum components

Postby slapshot136 » 23 Sep 2016, 16:22

Thanks for confirming my suspicions - I wasn't sure in particular if there is a filtering cap that would be needed to successfully power it or not, but it seems to work just fine without any

rew
Posts: 943
Joined: 25 Mar 2016, 12:29
Location: Delft, Netherlands.

Re: Minimum components

Postby rew » 25 Sep 2016, 09:41

Oh yes! If you're "slowly bringing up" a board and want to test each step of the way, I would recommend placing the decoupling caps near the CPU before trying to power/program the CPU. I count that as "very little". :-) (yeah I forgot... :-) )


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest